The Legal Services Board of Nunavut (LSB) was incorporated in July 2000, pursuant to section 3(1) of the Legal Services Act, R.S.N.W.T. 1988, c-14.  As the territory’s legal aid plan, LSB is responsible for providing legal services to financially eligible Nunavummiut in the areas of criminal, family and civil law.

LSB is governed by a territorial Board of Directors comprised of a Government of Nunavut representative, a Law Society of Nunavut representative, three regional representatives, and two members-at-large.  The GN Minister of Justice appoints all LSB Board members.  Legal services are provided through three regional clinics, each of whom has a regional board of directors.  Although LSB is publicly funded it is not a government department – it is an arms’ length public agency that is independently run.

LSB’s regional legal aid clinics are located in Cambridge Bay (Kitikmeot Law Centre), Rankin Inlet (Kivalliq Legal Services), and Iqaluit (Maliiganik Tukisiiniakvik).  Each clinic is staffed by a complement of family and criminal lawyers, administrative support, and court workers.  Courtworkers are based both within the clinics and in the communities.

In addition to its staff lawyers, LSB continues to rely on private counsel (non-staff lawyers) to meet the demands of clients, conflicts, the Court, and a growing circuit schedule.

La Commission des services juridiques du Nunavut

La Commission des services juridiques du Nunavut s’est constitué en société en juillet 2000 en vertu de l’article 3 (1) de la Loi sur les services juridiques du Nunavut, L.R.T.N.-O. 1988, ch. L-4. À titre de fiduciaire du Régime d’aide juridique sur le territoire, la Commission a la responsabilité de fournir aux Nunavummiut admissibles des services juridiques dans les domaines du droit criminel, familial et civil.

La Commission est dirigée par un conseil d’administration territorial constitué d’un représentant du gouvernement du Nunavut, d’un représentant du Barreau du Nunavut, de trois représentants des cliniques régionales et de deux représentants du public. Les services juridiques sont livrés dans trois cliniques régionales, chacune ayant son propre conseil d’administration régional. Bien que la Commission soit financée par des fonds publics, il ne s’agit pas d’un ministère du gouvernement, mais d’un organisme indépendant géré de manière autonome.

Les cliniques d’aide juridique de la Commission sont situées à Cambridge Bay (Kitikmeot Law Centre), Rankin Inlet (Kivalliq Legal Services) et Iqaluit (Maliiganik Tukisiiniakvik). Chaque clinique emploie des avocats en droit criminel et familial, des employés administratifs et des travailleurs parajudiciaires. Les travailleurs parajudiciaires sont basés à la fois dans les cliniques et dans les collectivités.

La Commission continue de faire appel à des avocats privés en plus des avocats du bureau pour répondre aux demandes des clients et de la cour, éviter les conflits d’intérêts et respecter l’horaire de plus en plus exigeant de la cour de circuit